JOHN CLARKSON

DISCOVER

dfw-jc-dcd-cover-bg-full.jpg
A photograph taken in downtown alley in

ABOUT JAMES BECK

“James Beck is one of the baddest, boldest, brashest creations ever seen of the page of any thriller. You can’t ask for more out of a crime novel.”

— Lorenzo Carcaterra

NY Times Best Selling Author


 

The legendary Jack Reacher may just have met his match in ex-convict James Beck…The action is relentless, twist turns upon twist as the intricacies of an exceptional plot unfold, revealing Beck as a man never to be underestimated…An outstanding thriller from a writer at the top of his game.”

— DAILY MAIL (London)

Fans of the great Lawrence Block and Lee Child will get their money’s worth and then some.”

— Peter Blauner

​​
 

“James Beck is not a man to cross…With crisp prose, masterful plotting, and building suspense, this is a real treat for fans of gritty crime fiction.”

— BOOKLIST (Starred Review)

Parking Lot

DEATH COMES DUE

The third novel in John’s

acclaimed James Beck series

is now available on Amazon.

THE WAIT IS OVER!

daniel-gregoire-wH-8F86EQDc-unsplash.jpg
hari-panicker-hI5XDquvlxk-unsplash.jpg

PRAISE FOR THE JAMES BECK BOOKS

"Fans of Lee Child’s Jack Reacher will find a lot to like.”

– PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

“This is a real treat for fans of gritty crime fiction, who will want more from Clarkson.”

– BOOKLIST

“John Clarkson’s latest, a hard-boiled and hard-driving crime caper novel, stands out.”

– BOOKREPORTER

 “Among Thieves is as good as good gets.” 

– Lorenzo Carcaterra

“Among Thieves is a high-octane thriller from a writer at the top of his game.”

– SALON.COM

“The fights are spectacular and not for the squeamish.”

– KIRKUS REVIEWS

“Strong storytelling combined with breathless.”

– PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

 

“The action sizzles in Bronx Requiem. Highly recommended.”

– BOOKLOONS

“Clarkson affirms with Bronx Requiem that he is the real deal.” 

– BOOKREPORTER

“The action is relentless…This is an outstanding thriller from a writer at the top of his game.”

– DAILY MAIL (London)

Fans of Clarkson’s AMONG THIEVES and BRONX REQUIEM have been asking for another James Beck novel for too long.

The call has been answered with his terrifying new thriller – DEATH COMES DUE.

An unknown enemy is out to take everything from James Beck starting with his life and the lives of his loyal crew of ex-cons.

Even if Beck survives, he’s going to wish he were dead. 

 

You don’t want to miss this one!

dfw-jc-nl-cover-bg3.jpg
26nytoday1-superJumbo.jpg

NEW LOTS

A new edition of John’s highly praised police procedural set in Brownsville, Brooklyn is available now.

PRAISE FOR NEW LOTS

"Thrillingly complex drug-war novel set in Brooklyn’s Brownsville section…steel-edged dialogue…intensively researched…hard-driving realism."

— Kirkus Reviews

"New Lots is prime-time crime fiction. The action starts fast, roving past drug-ravaged streets, deadly dealers, killers hunting their next target. Clarkson writes with fierce reality, pages filled with characters tabloid-fresh, street-corner dialogue vibrating with the fear which populates the hard zone of the city. New Lots is a roller coaster thrill ride from the opening riff down to a pulse-shredder of a climax. As with many of the characters he has created, Clarkson has bagged himself a hit. New Lots is the proof."

— Lorenzo Carcaterra
NY Times Best Selling Author

"Well-written…believable…this is a really terrific can’t-put-down-till-the-end read."

— The Ellenville Press

"Vibrant, realistic players…Clarkson keeps us caring until the end…Recommended for fans of gritty crime drama."

— American Library Association

"New Lots will satisfy readers looking for a fast-paced cop thriller with sympathetic leads."

— Publishers Weekly

​​

"New Lots by John Clarkson is a top-notch, adrenaline-charged, action-packed thriller, ideal for those who are bored with slow-paced, cerebral novels. A gritty, explosive tale, carefully orchestrated. Clarkson solidifies his reputation with a bleak, well-researched, utterly realistic saga of tough life and death on the urban streets."

— Lansing State Journal

"Clarkson has created an assortment of vibrant, realistic players – not exactly likable but certainly watchable…recommended for fans of gritty crime drama."

— Booklist

Image by Tom Delanoue

THE COMPLETE, NEWLY EDITED “ONE” SERIES  IS NOW AVAILABLE.

Just the Cover background and the face.j
one-mans-law-bg-no-letters (002).jpg

PRAISE FOR THE JACK DEVLIN "ONE" SERIES

"AN ALL-GUTS HERO.
PACKS A SAVAGE PUNCH!"

— The New York Times

"THE DEATH WISH OF THE 90's."

— William J. Caunitz

"DARK, SEXY, TOUGH AND FAST."

— Kirkus Reviews

"ACTION FANS WILL APPLAUD DEVLIN'S ARRIVAL ON THE SUSPENSE SCENE."
— Publishers Weekly

​"A HELLUVA GOOD READ."

— Stephen Solomita

“PACKS A SAVAGE PUNCH.”
  — The New York Times​

​​​

“SUPERCHARGED.”
— Orlando Sentinel 

“A VIRILE BOOK BY A
POWERFUL WRITER.” 

— Loren D. Estleman

If you haven’t read Clarkson’s Jack Devlin novels, now’s the time. Crime thriller aficionados have raved about these books for years. Click on READERS' REVIEWS above and check out the comments.

If you’re among the Devlin fans who have been asking for Kindle editions of these books, all of them are now available as Kindle e-books and in paperback.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

JOHN CLARKSON is the author of eight novels, including AMONG THIEVES, BRONX REQUIEM, and the new novel in the James Beck series – DEATH COMES DUE.

He spent many years in the advertising industry as a copywriter, creative director, running his own agency, and as a corporate consultant. John and his wife Ellen divide their time between Brooklyn and upstate New York. 

RECENT NEWS & POSTS

JOHN CLARKSON
Author of eight novels
including AMONG THIEVES, BRONX REQUIEM, and
DEATH COMES DUE in his acclaimed James Beck Series.
  • White Amazon Icon
  • whiteg
  • White Twitter Icon
© 2021 John Clarkson. All Rights Reserved.|Site Design by Krista's Design Studio
  • Black Amazon Icon
  • goodreads
  • Black Twitter Icon